Breakfast · SCD

Spicy Vegetable Smoothie

Spicy Vegetable Smoothie (SCD)

Recently, my mom got a new Vitamix blender and was telling me about how much she loves “savory” smoothies.  I was having the hardest time wrapping my mind around a smoothie that wasn’t sweet.  We like to load our smoothies full of veggies (spinach, carrots, kale, etc.) but then throw in lots of strawberries, blueberries, or bananas to make them sweet.  I was imagining a gag worthy V8 and was hesitant to try making my own non fruity smoothie.  I have now made about a dozen savory/salty vegetable smoothies and it turns out…they are delicious!  The trick for me is drinking them warm or hot, almost like soup.  Here is a recipe for my favorite concoction:

Spicy Vegetable Smoothie (SCD)

  • 2 cups canned tomato juice (SCD legal)
  • 2 ribs of celery
  • 6-8 baby carrots
  • 1/2 fresh, washed spinach
  • 1/4 glove garlic
  • onion cut to about the same size as the garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon chipotle chile powder (this is SPICY so use less to taste)
  • a pinch of black pepper

Put all ingredients in blender and blend on high until desired temperature is reached.  I like it lukewarm and love drinking it in the morning for breakfast.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Vegetable Smoothie

  1. i attempted “tomato soup” in the blender with similar ingredients… except that i put in half an onion. dont know what i was thinking, but we had grilled cheese sandwiches WITHOUT the soup that night. #onionbreathforlife bahahaha

Comments

