Broth · Gelatin · SCD · SCD Intro Diet

SCD Intro Diet

SCD Intro Diet - Specific Health

I started the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) a year ago and only did the intro diet for one day and then jumped right into eating any of the legal foods. I didn’t really have any symptoms at the time so other than sugar cravings and withdrawals I was fine.  *WARNING* if you know me you may want to stop reading because I’m sure this will be way too much information!!  However, if you are thinking about starting the Specific Carbohydrate Diet or having stomach issues, then read on and I hope this post helps you out!  You’ve been warned🙂

I had been making poor food choices for the past couple of weeks and diarrhea/bleeding got pretty bad.  My hormones have been a little out of whack too since my baby has cut back on breast feeding so my period has returned (I warned you!).  I decided I needed to restart in order to get things under control so I re read bits and pieces of “Breaking the Vicious Cycle” to refresh my memory on things.

Purpose of the Intro diet:  To allow your digestive system to rest by eating easily digestible foods as well as starve off the bad bacteria in the gut.

How long does it last:  The book says to follow the intro diet for 2 to 5 days, depending on severity of symptoms.

Intro Diet foods: 

  • bone broth
  • SCD legal yogurt (fermented for 24 hours to remove all lactose)
  • dry curd cottage cheese
  • eggs (hard boiled, dry scrambled)
  • boiled carrots
  • chicken, beef patties
  • homemade gelatin
  • apple cider or 100% grape juice
  • shredded chicken or broiled beef patties

 Any variation of these foods and however much you need to fill you up.

So here is a run down of my experience with the intro diet…

On Sunday I was feeling really miserable and spending lots of time in the bathroom.  That made for a really fun time at church.  I’m not sure who spent more time in there, me or my three-year-old who is potty training and recently figured out that saying he needs to go potty gets him out of having to sit still and listen to the speakers at church🙂  I mostly just drank up the chicken broth that I had stored in my freezer and ate gelatin and rested.  Monday morning was when I decided to actually “start” the diet.

Day 1

For breakfast I had hard boiled eggs and apple cider gelatin (recipes are at the end of the post).  My three-year-old and one-year-old thought this was the best breakfast ever!  I also snacked on some yogurt with honey throughout the morning.  For lunch I had more hard boiled eggs and gelatin and drooled over the kids’ tortilla chips, cheese, apples, and bananas that they had for lunch.  I am still breast feeding my one-year-old and after lunch I was feeling like I was going to starve to death.  I forced myself to eat some more yogurt but my stomach just kept growling.  I decided to make the Cheesecake recipe that was listed in the menu plan in the book.SCD Intro Diet - Specific Health

It didn’t taste as good as it looks but it was surprisingly filling!  The texture was just too dry and soggy.  I sipped on some chicken broth to hold me over until dinner.

SCD Intro Diet - Specific Health

This plain, broiled beef patty (ground beef and eggs) and these mashed, boiled carrots tasted like heaven!  I went back for seconds and thirds and finally felt full!  Later that evening I had more cheesecake and gelatin.

Before bed I was feeling exhausted, grumpy, and crummy so we put the boys to bed (I’m pretty sure my husband raided the pantry at that point) and I took an epsom salt bath which helped me feel a lot better.

Day 2

I had been so focused on not starving the day before that I didn’t drink enough water which made for a killer headache.

SCD Intro Diet - Specific Health

I guzzled lots of water and packed around a mason jar full of chicken broth all day long.  I felt like crazy Uncle Si with his plastic cup of iced tea.  That was a Duck Dynasty reference, in case you were wondering🙂

SCD Intro Diet - Specific Health

For breakfast I had scrambled eggs and apple cider gelatin.  Through out the morning I snacked on gelatin and cheesecake.  I was starting to feel really good.  No more headache and my stomach felt so much better.  I was finally getting enough to eat too so I wasn’t so exhausted and hungry and actually had enough energy to run some errands, play at the park with the boys, and go for a walk.

SCD Intro Diet - Specific HealthLunch was more scrambled eggs and lots of chicken.  For dinner I had more chicken and changed things up with some grape gelatin and some watered down grape juice to drink.  Later that evening I snacked on gelatin, cheesecake, and more chicken.

My stomach felt great when I went to bed, not 100% (still some diarrhea), but significantly improved so I decided that 2 days on the intro diet was plenty for me!

Intro Diet Recipes

Apple Cider or Grape Juice Gelatin (SCD)

SCD Intro Diet - Specific Health

  • 2 Tablespoons unflavored gelatin
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling juice

Sprinkle powdered gelatin over the top of 1/2 cup of cold water and let soften.  Bring 1 1/2 cups juice to a boil and stir into softened gelatin.  Mix well.  Let cool to room temp then refrigerate until completely set.

Chicken Broth (SCD)

In a large stock pot (mine is 8 quarts), place in a whole chicken and cover with water.  Add a splash of apple cider vinegar and let sit for 30 minutes.  Roughly chop carrots, onions, and celery and add to the pot.  Bring to a boil and periodically skim off the foam and scum that rises to the top.  Cover and simmer for 4 hours or until chicken is cooked through.  Remove whole chicken from pot and with a fork pull all the meat from the bones.  Return the bones to the stock pot and add enough water to fill it back up.  Cover and let simmer for another 20 hours.

After the stock has simmered for 24 hours, remove from heat and let cool.  I put a round mesh strainer over the opening of a gallon pitcher (you will need two) and strain out the bones and veggies.  Let the two pitchers cool to room temperature then move to the fridge.  The fat will solidify at the top and can be easily spoon off.  I like to pour stock into freezer jars or quart size ziploc bags and freeze.

Discard the veggies and at this point you can throw away the bones or return them to the stock pot, cover them with water, add a splash of apple cider vinegar. let sit for thirty minutes, add more veggies, bring to a boil, cover, and simmer for another 24 hours.  This second round of stock won’t be a gelatinous, dark and tasty but it’s a great way to get lots of mileage out of your chicken bones!

Broth can be made in four hours but I like to follow the instructions in the video from the Healthy Home Economist.

Cheesecake (SCD)

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup SCD yogurt
  • 2 cups dry curd cottage cheese
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Blend all ingredients until smooth.  Pour into a 9×9″ glass baking dish for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.  This is more like a custard.

Recipe from Breaking the Vicious Cycle

3 thoughts on “SCD Intro Diet

  1. Thank you so much! I love all the details you add. My son is twelve years old and suffering from Chrohn’s disease. We are just starting a new medication and the SCD diet, hoping to prevent harsher treatments. He has a great attitude about it so now it is my job to come up with good recipes for him!

Comments

