Cookie · SCD

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

Peanut Butter and Grape Jelly Cookies (SCD) - Specific Health

When my husband and I were first married we were dirt poor.  We were both going to school full-time and working part-time and money was tight.  Everyday for a year I would pack a couple of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch.  After that year I swore I would NEVER eat another PB&J again!

Well today (five years later!) it sounded really good.  I was trying to figure out how to get the flavors without using bread.  I thought about making an apple sandwich but those can be a little tedious to make.  Then I had a genius idea…a peanut butter thumbprint cookie with grape jam on top!  I thought I had the best idea ever.  Until I googled it and realized it was a great idea, just not original🙂

Peanut Butter and Grape Jelly Cookies (SCD)

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup natural peanut butter (the kind with only one ingredient…peanut butter)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 cup SCD legal jam or jelly (I used this recipe)

Heat oven to 325 degrees.

Beat butter until fluffy.  Beat in honey, vanilla extract, and eggs.  Mix in peanut butter and salt and beat until creamy.  Mix in soda and almond flour.

Roll into one inch balls and use your thumb to make a hole in the center of each cookie.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack then add a small spoonful of jam.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Recipe from:  Specific Carbohydrate Diet Blog

 

Linked up at http://thankyourbody.com/thank-body-thursday-49/

Comments

