Main Dish · Sauces/Condiments · SCD

Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza

Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD) - Specific Health

After I started the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, I was sad to give up our Friday night pizza tradition (so was my two-year-old).  I couldn’t decide if I should just continue making pizza for the family and eat something else myself or start a new tradition instead.  I had seen several cauliflower pizza crust recipes floating around the internet and all over Pinterest, but cauliflower has such a strong flavor that I thought it wouldn’t fly with my husband or toddler.  Finally, one Friday night I was craving pizza like crazy so I decided to give it a try.  It was so good!  My toddler just kept asking for more and more.  I’m so happy to say that the Friday night pizza tradition is still alive and well at our house!

Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD)

  • 1 medium to large sized head of cauliflower
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup cheese (I used monterey jack)
  • 1 teaspoon spices of your choice (I used REAL salt seasoning salt)
  • Pizza Sauce (recipe follows)
  • Cheese (I used colby jack) or other toppings of your choice

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Bring a medium sized pot half full of water to a boil.  Cut cauliflower florets away from the stalk and add them to the boiling water.  Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for about 10 minutes or until cauliflower is fork-tender (but not mushy).

Now the trick to not having a soggy cauliflower pizza crust is to make sure you thoroughly drain the cauliflower before making the “dough.”  Here’s how I do it: Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD) - Specific HealthDrain off as much water as you can then transfer the cauliflower to a glass bowl. Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD) - Specific HealthPlace a clean kitchen towel over the bowl.  Now here’s the tricky part… Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD) - Specific Health

Hold the towel tightly around the bowl and flip upside down.  Let the cauliflower sit like this for 15 minutes to drain and cool off.  (I bet there’s an easier way to do this but this way always works for me!)

Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD) - Specific HealthOnce your cauliflower has sat for about 15 minutes then securely hold the dish towel and flip the bowl right side up.  Using a pastry cutter, cut the florets until they resemble the consistency of cooked rice.

Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD) - Specific Health

Add cheese, eggs, and spices then stir until combined.  The mixture should be the consistency of sticky dough.

Cheesy Cauliflower Pizza (SCD) - Specific HealthUse your hands to divide the “dough” and press into four even, medium-sized pizza crusts.  Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until crusts are golden brown.  Add sauce, cheese, and any other toppings you want then return to oven until cheese is melted (5 to 10 minutes).

This crust is sturdy enough to eat with your hands.  I have only made it with a cheese topping so I don’t know how well it holds up to heavier toppings.  It definitely has a cauliflower flavor but the cheese, sauce, and spices make this a great SCD legal pizza option!

Tomato and Spinach Pizza Sauce (SCD)

Tomato and Spinach Pizza Sauce (SCD) - Specific Health

  • 1 (15 oz) can SCD legal diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 cup raw spinach
  • 1 tablespoon diced onion
  • 2 tablespoons sun dried tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • a pinch of salt and a shake or two of pepper

Tomato and Spinach Pizza Sauce (SCD) - Specific Health

Add all ingredients and simmer over medium heat, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes.  Pour in blender and blend until smooth.

Tomato and Spinach Pizza Sauce (SCD) - Specific Health

Comments

