Dessert · Raw · SCD

Key Lime Pie

key lime pie copy

My husband has been really supportive of my diet and helping me stick to it.  I kind of went off the deep end about a month ago and binged on Easter candy.  Oh how I love chocolate!  I was having a really tough time re-committing myself, so he asked if it would help if he followed it with me.  It has been so nice to have someone to be accountable to, who understands what I’m going through, and who knows just how tough it is to constantly read labels!  He has had a few slip-ups but for the most part has been getting the hang of things.  I had to laugh at a text he sent me the other day while at work:

Robert:  Popcorn is okay to eat, right?

Me:  No, corn is a grain.

Robert:  I think it’s a vegetable.

Me:  Grain.

Robert:  Vegetable!

I have had a major sweet tooth lately and this Key Lime Pie hit the spot!  The tart, creamy filling combined with the sweet, nuttiness of the crust was a perfect combination!  I was a little skeptical of the avocados, but they made for great texture and color.  Next up, perfecting a lemon bar recipe.

Key Lime Pie (SCD)

Crust Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dates, pitted
  • 1 cup raw walnuts
  • 1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • a pinch of sea salt

Filling Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 ripe avocados
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup lime juice, divided
  • 1 teaspoon unflavored gelatin

Add all crust ingredients to blender or food processor and pulse until desired consistency is reached.  Press into an un-greased pie plate and set aside.

Put 1/4 cup lime juice in a small dish and sprinkle gelatin over the top.  Give a quick stir then allow to sit for 5 minutes to soften.  Place avocado, honey, coconut oil, and 1/2 cup lime juice in blender and blend until smooth.  Add lime and gelatin mixture and blend until combined.  Spread mixture over crust and refrigerate until set, about 1 hour.

Adapted from:  Delighted Momma

What’s your go-to dessert recipe?

One thought on “Key Lime Pie

  1. so I had left the computer open to this page and mollie was reading through it. she was totally grossed out that it called for sea salt lol.

Comments

